Tags

, ,

Today is the 8th October, the fourth day of the Shardiya Navratra and my sister S’s 27th birthday. 27th birthday! Wow time surely flies! I still remember her as a pre-schooler getting ready for her play school just few houses away from my maternal

Image

My little sister with her better half V

grandparents’ house.

Since the school was just an informal play school with lots of kids from the nearby area coming together for some learning, playing and other things, my little sister used to enjoy her small routine. S always had a sense of style and so every morning it was a chore to dress her according to her wishes because if something didn’t match it was rejected. But my maami (maternal aunt) was patient with her and together they used to reach a middle ground every day.

Another thing my little M (her nickname) insisted that her elder sisters would bring the lunch and cold water for her while in the school. There were two of us – one obviously me (her bua’s (parental aunt) daughter and the other one H (her parental uncle’s daughter). So it would be either of us or at times both of us depending on the madam S’s mood.

When she grew up little and understood that I was a journalist she told me “Didi I want to follow your footsteps,” I was amazed that this little sister of mine wanted to be a journalist like me, another writer to have a healthy debate on various issues and that too in the family. And my heart swelled with pride.

She did become a journalist (she did her masters in MassCom from Lovely Professional University) and was hired by the university itself to teach. She enjoyed teaching and became one of the celebrity teachers of the university whom the students loved and adored. Today she is married to the most wonderful guy V and is enjoying her marital life and is also working with another prominent university Amity.

And so today when it is your first birthday after marriage may I take the liberty to wish you Many Many Happy Returns of the Day S and may you celebrate many such birthdays with V. Have a blast!

This post is a part of Ultimate Blog Challenge Day 7.

UBC-bannerbox250

